Submit a Proposal

To submit a proposal, click the button below, which will take you to the Cambridge University Press website.

Submit Proposal

Once on the Cambridge website, click “Abstract Submission” to proceed. The deadline is March 15, 2020.

PolMeth XXXVII Call for Proposals

We are pleased to announce that the 37th Annual Meeting of the Society for Political Methodology (PolMeth XXXVII) is now accepting proposals. The meeting will be hosted by the University of Toronto and will take place from July 16 to July 18, 2020.

This year, we are continuing the format from the previous two meetings:

1) We welcome both proposals that focus on methodological innovations, and proposals that apply cutting-edge methods to empirical problems of substantive interest.

2) We will have two formats for paper presentations: regular presentation and short presentation sessions. A regular presentation session will feature a single paper with 40-minute oral presentation, followed by a discussion and Q&A. A short presentation session will contain two papers sharing a common theme, and (unlike APSA panels) each paper presentation will be immediately followed by a discussion and Q&A. Given the success of the short format, this year’s meeting will increase the proportion of short presentations.

3) The meeting will feature presentations by junior scholars and scholars from groups underrepresented in political methodology. These panels will be moderated by senior scholars and will occur during the main conference.

The Society for Political Methodology is fully committed to fostering diversity and inclusion. We recognize that our impact as a subfield – from our ability to communicate our findings and to speak to a broad audience to our ability to consider the breadth of methodological possibilities – comes through diversity, and we actively seek and welcome people with diverse backgrounds, experiences, and identities. You can read more about the Society’s commitment to diversity here:

We require that all participants acknowledge and follow the Code of Conduct at SPM Events to ensure a harassment-free environment at the meeting. You will be asked to confirm your agreement in the application form. You can read the Code of Conduct on the SPM’s website:

You are invited to apply now if you are:

  • Faculty members who wish to present a paper, serve as a discussant, or simply attend the conference;
  • Junior faculty who wish to be considered for limited funding;
  • Graduate students who want to present a poster.

You can access the submission form using the following link:

The deadline for submissions is March 15. This deadline is firm. Late applications will not be considered.

IF YOU ARE A GRADUATE STUDENT: Your application must be supported by a faculty recommendation. These recommendations are submitted through a webform and must be completed by the application deadline (March 15). They are typically 2 to 4 paragraphs in length and discuss the student’s poster proposal, methodological training, and any other information that would be relevant for the Graduate Student Selection Committee. We strongly encourage you to give your recommenders as much advance notice as possible, and inform them of the March 15 deadline.

The registration fee for the conference will be kept the same as last year: $275 for SPM members ($225 if you are a student) and $300 for non-members ($250 for a student).

If you have questions or concerns, please contact the conference organizers at For more information about conference logistics, visit our website:

We look forward to receiving your proposals!


Ludovic Rheault, on behalf of the conference committees

2020 Program Committee: Michael A. Bailey (Georgetown), Olga Chyzh (ISU), Jay Goodliffe (BYU), Nahomi Ichino (Emory), Jacob Montgomery (WUSTL), Mark Pickup (Simon Fraser) and Ludovic Rheault (Toronto, Chair)

2020 Graduate Student Selection Committee: Wendy K. Tam Cho (Illinois), Michelle Dion (McMaster), Ellen M. Key (Appalachian State), Matthew Lebo (Western Ontario), Ludovic Rheault (Toronto) and Teppei Yamamoto (MIT, Chair)